One Mr. Basketball finalist, Derrick Walton, will stay close at home to be cheered on by Michigan students in the Maize Rage. Photo Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Finalists for Mr. Basketball Award Announced

The finalists for this year’s Hal Schram Mr. Basketball Award have been announced and it is a group dominated by “little” guys. The game of basketball has gone through a dramatic shift with guards overtaking big men as the dominant players on the court.

It’s a trend that is reflected on the ballot that will be put before the members of the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan whose vote will determine who will be named Mr. Basketball.

The finalists are…

Monte Morris
6-2, Guard, Flint Beecher
Committed to Iowa State

Dontel Highsmith
6-3, Guard, Dowagiac
Committed to Northern Illinois

Kahlil Felder
5-9, Guard, Detroit Pershing
Committed to Oakland

Derrick Walton Jr.
6-1, Guard, Harper Woods Chandler Park Academy
Committed to Michigan

James Young
6-6, Forward, Rochester
Committed to Kentucky

The winner will be announced on March 18.

Tags: Mr. Basketball

comments powered by Disqus